Correct Power Cable

1100, 900, 800 and 700 series Units without Side Imaging
Post Reply
proskeeterman
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:45 pm

Correct Power Cable

Post by proskeeterman » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:11 pm

Trying to determine what the proper power cable is for my New 859ci HD DI? This unit is a brand new and doesn't appear in Humminbird's accesory line. I think the PC 11 is the proper cable (according to the one that came with the unit), but would like to know for sure. If this is the proper cable, can I attatch the wires to a portable 12 volt power source and use the unit in the demo mode? I want to be able to fire it up and aquait myself with it's features, while sitting in my living room. Is that feasible? Thanks.

Wayne P.
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Correct Power Cable

Post by Wayne P. » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:21 pm

The standard power cord for the SI units and some of the more sofisticated non-SI units is the PC-11.
It has the built-in choke and larger conductors.

The other power cord is the PC-10.

Either one works fine for in-home Simulator use.

The Demo mode is worthless for learning, Turn that off and use Simulator.

You need a power supply that has 1 1/2 amp capacity it seems for newer units. Someone posted on another site that a 1A would not start up his 898.

I use 1A converters at home and doing demos, with my 1198 units and 798.
Wayne Purdum
Charlottesville, Va.

proskeeterman
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:45 pm

Re: Correct Power Cable

Post by proskeeterman » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:27 am

Wayne, can you tell me which converter you used for your demos? Are the ones that plug into a wall socket acceptible? The AC100-240V to DC 12V 2A converters?

Wayne P.
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Correct Power Cable

Post by Wayne P. » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:07 am

I use this one, but as mentioned before another person stated his unit would not start up with a 1A power supply. I have been using these for about 6 years.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... =CT2818119

I put an auto plug on the power cord that has a built-in fuse and plug that into the power supply.

Image
Wayne Purdum
Charlottesville, Va.

Moonlightz
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Correct Power Cable

Post by Moonlightz » Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:04 am

You are the people who can find good information to share.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Created by Matti from StylesFactory.pl and Warlords of Draenor
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
 

 

cron