Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Anything Related to the Humminbird 11xx, 9xx, 8xx, 7xx also known as CORE series Units
Post Reply
SkipEye
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:00 am

Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by SkipEye » Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:12 am

My 1197 has faithfully worked and successfully updated many times in 7 years. I just bought 2 1199's and went to update the 1197 to the latest version so it would network with my 1199's and it locked up, says 'loading' over and over. I really don't want to have to send it in as they aren't worth much nowadays but my unit looks almost brand new.

I ordered the AS PC3 cable and should have it Tuesday. It was working fine until I tried to update, hoping the bootstrap method will work.

The only thing I can think that was different than any other update was that I had it connected to the ethernet. Did that cause my problem? I was hoping to go fishing Sunday and play around with my new setup..........DISGUSTED!

Wayne P.
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by Wayne P. » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:05 am

Did you read the instructions for how to do an update?

Disconnecting from accessories and communication cables was included.
Wayne Purdum
Charlottesville, Va.

SkipEye
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:00 am

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by SkipEye » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:12 am

Yes Wayne, what I read was disconnect accessories and it listed interlink, weathersense and maybe a few other things. I didn't see any mention of ethernet but I should have known better.

I just got off the phone with HB Customer Service. $68.50 to program it so it is getting sent off today.

Hopefully I m saved from my stupidity this time. They stated the PC cable I ordered would not work to program an 1197 unit via Humminbird PC so the factory is my only hope.

I did also find a crack in my cable collector and the power pins were possibly receded a bit although the screen did not go blank, everything simply froze at the abort update screen when I selected NO.

Wayne P.
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by Wayne P. » Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:25 am

Ethernet came after those instructions were printed. They just never updated it.
Wayne Purdum
Charlottesville, Va.

SkipEye
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:00 am

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by SkipEye » Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:09 pm

Just an update. HB Customer Service was great! 8 day turnaround from my door and back to me. $68.50 to re-program, I haven't powered it up yet but am sure I am back in business. Thanks Humminbird!!!!

Denny O
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:50 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by Denny O » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:08 am

We have not heard, how you turned out, so no news is good news?

SkipEye
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:00 am

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by SkipEye » Sat Feb 27, 2016 6:30 pm

Today is the first day I powered up the unit after having it restored by HB.

I have it on an ethernet network with 2 1199's. The resolution is so bad it is unusable!!!!! The 1199's 2D and SI is fine on both units. HB upgraded to the latest sotware for the 1197 and I have always heard it is very pixelated with that version. That is an understatement! Not very happy with it.

On another note, this is my first trip out with networked units and my 2nd 1199 froze up several times and lost it's sonar feed, would then revert to maps.

Not sure if the 1197 is bogging dopwn the whole network as I didn't think to turn it off or see what it was doing. I will say upon power up it takes a LONG TIME for the 1197 to see the network so I don't think it's a good candidate for networking. Maybe it is causing my problems!

Probably going to pull the 1197 and get a Helix or another 1199 for my 3rd unit unless anyone has suggestions.......

Wayne P.
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Bricked my 1197 trying to update!!!!!

Post by Wayne P. » Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:55 pm

Some of your problems may be corrupt waypoints. Check all of them and if any have anything but numbers and letters, either delete them or rename them.
Wayne Purdum
Charlottesville, Va.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Created by Matti from StylesFactory.pl and Warlords of Draenor
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
 

 

cron